Crockpot Tortellini Soup

I’ll admit, I’m not much of a crockpot user.  I have a few recipes that I tend to use it for, but for the most part, I’m never pleased with how crockpot recipes turn out.  So when I see recipes for it, I usually don’t try them.

I’m glad I took the time to try this recipe.  I totally altered it though, to fit into a smaller crockpot (3 quart I believe), and be better suited for our small family.
crockpot tortellini soup 3

The best way I found to make this recipe, is to layer all the ingredients. I did 1/2 the tortellini’s, spinach, tomatoes, cream cheese, and sausage.  Repeat.

Word to the wise–the sausage gives it a lot of flavor.  I’ve tried to both ways, with and without, and the version WITH it was much better!

Layering means you don’t have to stir things up too much.  Tortellini’s are a fairly fragile pasta, and you don’t want to mess with them too much, so they don’t break apart.

I just stir it gently before serving, to make sure things are melding nicely. And to, of course, try a bite or two!

crockpot tortellini soup 4

 

Top with some parmesan cheese and you’re ready to enjoy!

 

CROCKPOT TORTELLINI SOUP
Krystalskitchen.wordpress.com

Ingredients

  • 1 package frozen cheese tortellini’s
  • 1 8oz package cream cheese, chunked up
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (do not drain)
  • 2 cans broth (I used vegetable)
  • 1/2 small bag fresh spinach
  • 1/2 lb ground sausage, cooked and crumbled
  • Parmesan cheese for topping

Instructions
In a small crock pot, layer tortellini’s, spinach, 1/2 a can of diced tomatoes, 1/2 the spinach, 1/2 the cream cheese, and 1/2 the sausage.  Repeat layers.  Pour the broth over everything.  Cover and cook on low for about 3 hours.  Check it at 2.5 hours, as the tortellini’s cook quick, and you don’t want them to turn to mush! Serve warm with parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

